Georges Rouault at the Pompidou

I was really excited to get to spend some time with Georges Rouault while in Paris.  A seminary professor turned me on to him and I’ve found his interest deeply warranted.  I’m not an art critic, historian, etc.  But I find his work deeply moving and the Pompidou Centre has a room with over 50 pieces that were given to the centre by the Rouault family as works that were not considered finished.   Another fantastic surprise was the other exhibition on right now “Traces of the Sacred” had two pieces by Rouault.  One of them is quite well known and I geeked out to see it.  Homo Homini Lupus – Man is wolf to man.  In the galleria picked up an excellent book with large reproductions of Rouault’s “Miserere” series.  Of course it’s in french. I’ll have to start working on that.  I’d love to be able to read the book one day!  N.B. I acquired permission from the Rouault estate to use one of his images for an album we recorded of a good friday service at Redeemer-Indy.

Leave a Reply

