Butoh


Pj, Ros and I went to the Laban Center in Greenwich last weekend to see Mirror/Brutality a 2 part Butoh performance choreographed by Marie-Gabrielle Rotie. This was my first exposure to live Butoh and I was absolutely entranced. The first piece was a meditation on darkness and dreams inspired by the fear of the Nosferatu. The 2nd piece was based on Francis Bacon’s “Crucifixion” with three women. I’ll try to post some links to places to see some live examples. I’ve been thinking about it all week. The coolest thing is also that pj found out that the choreographer will be leading a class for pj’s program next week. I’m going to try and sneak in.

Leave a Reply

